Here, have some Oregon

I’ve received some queries as to the status of my job.  I got an email from the company yesterday letting me know that their first week back in the office after the New Year was quite busy, but they’ll know this week if they can make me an official offer.  They wrote to verify my employment status (unemployed) and to make sure I was still interested in the position.  Why yes, I am still interested!  I’m eagerly awaiting their email this week.  I hope it contains good news.  I have a whole set of plans to launch into action if I get the job offer, and I’m very excited to start.  So, thanks for your support, everyone; I’m really hoping for some good news very soon.

In lieu of an update about my potential new job, I thought I’d share a little bit about where I live.  This post will in no way deal with Japan, so feel free to skip it if you’re only interested in Japan-related content.  I promise not to be offended.

Here’s a map of Oregon.  My hometown is Redmond, smack dab in the middle of the map, where the red circle is.  I attended University at the UO in Eugene (GO DUCKS), and my younger brother attends Oregon State University about 45 minutes north of that in Corvallis.  Oregon can be divided into some distinct areas – many people are fond of the “Valley” area, which includes Eugene, Corvallis, Salem, Portland, etc.  The I-5 strip up the western side of the state is a pretty popular area, and the Oregon coastline is very beautiful.

Where I live is called “high desert” because our elevation is about 3000 feet, but the climate is very desert-y.  Further east in Oregon is pretty flat and grassy.  I have access to tons of different outdoor activities here including the popular Smith Rock, snow-sport mecca Mt. Bachelor, rafting on the Deschutes River, and a few hours’ drive from surfing (in very cold water) on the Oregon coast.  I’ve never surfed the Oregon coast because I’m a sissy and am also afraid of crashing into rocks.  I’ll stick to California and Hawaii for the time being.  I can claim my rights as an Oregonian for having hiked/snowboarded/rafted at all the other places, though!

My younger brother studied at the central oregon campus of OSU for fall term, and we moved him back to Corvallis last week to his new place to start winter term.  On the way, we stopped to take some photos because the valley area is so vastly different from where we live.

I’ve driven this road many, many times over the four years I attended college, and every time I’m struck by how much it looks like Lord of the Rings was filmed here.  I think this is the “Oregon” that most people picture when I tell them I’m from Oregon.  I spent four years in a place where I heard people refer to rain as “liquid sunshine”, but my hometown is the polar opposite of this.

This is part of our driveway and the “compound” that is our house.  Our place sits on 20 acres, and what we lack in grass we make up for in…well, dirt.  The climate here is very dry, and lately, very grey.  We live out of town, so it’s very quiet and I don’t see people other than my parents unless I leave our property (yes, I have become a hermit).  I took these photos around 4:30 PM today as the sun was going down, and it was still so dreary I turned on the light on my camera to take photos.  It looks like this every day anymore, and it makes me understand why some people suffer from Seasonal Affective Disorder; it’s a pretty depressing sight to look at day in and day out.

We’ve got Juniper trees, large rodents that live in rock-houses (I’m serious, we named one Paul several years ago), extremely dry weather year round (our rain comes in the form of flash storms during the summer), and my house is down the street from a reindeer farm.  Yes, reindeer.  They get shipped out around the country every December for shows and pictures and things.  I see tourists pulled over to the side of the road to take pictures of them every once in a while.  Inevitably, there comes the season when I see a sign posted outside their office: “Seasonal sausage now available!”  I live in a quirky area, I suppose – it’s pretty laid back, but there’s definitely certain “types” of people that live in central Oregon – the majority of the population consists of hicks and yuppies.  Interesting to see them collide, let me tell you.

Well, there’s my Oregon.  Riveting, I know.   My town’s population is about 25,000 people, few of which I know, and even fewer of which I want to spend time with.  I suppose I could head down to Home Depot and try to make some new friends there…naaaaaah.

Job update soon (I hope!)

P.S. – I realized recently my twitter feed on the sidebar of the blog doesn’t display my Retweets now that Twitter has implemented the Retweet button.  This makes me sad, because I like to think I follow some pretty funny people, and want to share their musings with everyone.  If you’re interested, check out the people I follow – I have no idea who the majority of them are, but they make me laugh a lot. I suppose I should warn that their content is often socially inappropriate…but I like it that way.

This entry was posted in Orygun, Stuff and Things. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Here, have some Oregon

  1. Mom says:

    As always well written and nice photos. I am happy to have you home but understand your need to get back to your life you have come to love.

  2. Steve says:

    Alisha,

    Glad things are really moving along on the job hunt. Sounds like they are really interested in your application!

    I love your location! It sounds fantastic!!! I need to get out and see some green once all this white is gone!

  3. jy says:

    Back again… I’m from Klamath Falls, south of where you are. Hope to have you back on THIS side of the pond soon!

  4. jy says:

    Oops forgot to say, I’m also a fellow DUCK!

Leave a Reply

