Out with the old, in with the new

Happy New Year, everyone!  I’m not sure my new year was worth writing about, but I’ll do it anyway so I can segue into something else later.

I spent the evening of the 31st at home playing Monopoly with my brother and his girlfriend until around 11:57, when we migrated to the living room to watch the traditional ball-dropping ceremony (which really sounds a lot more hilarious than it is, now that I think about it).  We gave a half-hearted “Yay…” along with my Mom, who joined us for the “exciting” moment before retreating to our respective rooms.  I slapped my brother to ring in the new year as I headed back to my bedroom.  I’d say that was the highlight of my evening.  He’ll get me back soon, I’m sure of it.  It’s some kind of sick ongoing game we have, and I’m not sure how it started.  Story of my life.

Anyway, I’ve got high hopes for 2010.  After my last blog post, I surprisingly got an email from the company I was mentioning, who said they’d forward on my info to the owner of the place where I’d applied.  I’ll get more news from them at the end of this week.  Still crossing my fingers (I wish that actually helped).  I’ve also had to come to terms with the very real possibility that this (and other positions back on the other side of the pond) may not work out at this time for me.  I don’t like to think about it, because it’s where I’d really like to be at this point in time, but it is important to have a backup plan to fall on.  I can’t exist in this limbo forever!

I’m pushing forward, because I need a reason to get out of bed in the morning (other than to consume massive amounts of caffeine and harass my cats).  It was another wakeup when the rest of the world went back to work today, but I slept in until 10:30 and spent my day drinking coffee and pacing my house.  It may sound great, but after two months of this, the cabin fever has really set in.  My partner in crime (read: brother) headed back to start his winter term at university, my parents have things to do, and it’s about time I had plans of my own (other than wasting time on Twitter).

So, 2010, I’m open to suggestion.  You know what’s up; you know what I want.  If we could cooperate and work something out, that’d be pretty cool.  I’d like you a whole lot better than I’ve liked some previous years, that’s for sure.  I’ll do my part if you and the universe can coordinate and help me make it all happen.  I’ll try to make the best of it.  And yes, I promise not to spend tooooo much time sleeping.  I’ve done enough of that the last two months.

Happy New Year!

This entry was posted in Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Out with the old, in with the new

  1. sendtoharvey says:

    just came across the blog…looks interesting enough..i’ll read through it later..
    good luck with whatever it is you’re lookin forward to

  2. Steve says:

    Glad that things are really moving forward with the job prospect! I hope it really works out!

  3. jack says:

    happy new years!!!!!

    i really hope that u get that english teaching job.

    good luck

  4. Alex says:

    Hi Alisha and happy New Year!

    I just found out about your job prospect by watching your “Happy Holidays from Orygun!” video on YouTube. Thanks for posting it – and by the way, excellent/fun/green idea + great video production.

    Fingers crossed for the job!

    Alex (aka Esitubo)

Leave a Reply

