Happy Holidays!

As time has passed, our family’s holiday celebrations have become progressively less present-centric and more breakfast+talk centric.  A couple years ago we started a new tradition of writing family-related stories that we’d share with each other on Christmas morning as opposed to spending a small fortune on gifts.  This year was much the same – minimal gift-giving, and the highlight was on spending a little bit of time together.  Unfortunately, my Dad had to work today (he’s a 911 dispatcher), but we still got a few hours to spend with him this morning.  My younger brother had his significant other’s family to celebrate with, too.

We ate breakfast together, hit each other with pillows, had a few laughs, opened the handful of presents we had under our little forest of trees, and then broke for the day.  I groggily wandered out to the living room at around 10:45 or so to find we had a grey Christmas this year – the world is very, very frosty this morning.

My gifts were in the theme of keeping warm (especially after this blog post).  My parents got me an upgraded heater and I got some extremely fuzzy slippers from my Gram (thank you!).  My brother’s lovely, lovely girlfriend recently returned from a study abroad trip to the middle east, and she brought me back a bracelet from Syria!  I love receiving practical, meaningful gifts like these.

So, with that, another Christmas gone by.  I’m going to spend my day utilizing my new gifts (i.e. sitting in front of the heater and keeping warm).  Check out the Happy Holidays video I made a few days ago, too!  I hope you and yours have a very happy holiday season, whatever you may be celebrating (or not celebrating) this year.  To everyone I couldn’t be with this year, I miss you and wish I could have been in several places at once today.

Happy Holidays.

With love,

Alisha

This entry was posted in Orygun, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy Holidays!

  1. Steve says:

    Sounds like a wonderful time with your family! I hope your dad gets off early and can come home!

    Merry Christmas from Korea.

  2. Gram says:

    Hope you keep toasty in your new slippers with your new heater. Remember you always have an invitation to come down and stay in Fallbrook for a while, maybe I can even find you a ticket. Love You, Gram ( from sunny Ca.)

Leave a Reply

