I move, therefore I build muscle

Today I actually moved! I said goodbye to Akihabara and hit the road for my new home. Today Tokyo experienced some typhoon action, and I decided there was no way I was going to drag my huge, heavy bags through it. I opted to have my bags picked up by a local shipping service, and they’ll bring them to my new place tomorrow. It was only 2700 yen (somewhere in the neighborhood of $27), and I thought that was a small price to pay for my sanity.

The guy arrived at my apartment to pick up my bags literally three minutes after I walked in the door. I needed time to throw some clothes in another bag and grab my toothbrush, soap, etc. I just grabbed stuff from a suitcase without really looking at what it was. I think I ended up with like 5 shirts and no pants. The slacks I had on were drenched by the time I got to my new place (an umbrella was virtually useless today) so I changed into the one other pair I had – yoga pants, thank god. I just wanted something dry. I promptly crashed.

postmove

I’ll head to the supermarket (YES) tomorrow to stock up my new kitchen so I don’t have to eat horrible convenience store pasta anymore. I’m probably waaaay too excited to live in close proximity to two supermarkets. But I really miss cooking. Now the question is what I want to make first! It’s unfortunate that ovens aren’t really a part of the apartment scene here. I would loooove to make some bread or parmesan chicken. I’m getting hungry just thinking about it.

I’ll put up some pictures of the new place soon. I’d like to take them during the day because this new place has big windows and the light is very nice. I’m crossing my fingers I won’t get caught in another monsoon tomorrow. I worked up a sweat carrying my laptop and two shopping bags stuffed with toiletries and a few other miscellaneous items. I was feeeeeeelin’ the burn but I just kept thinking about how good it felt to be in the rain again. I didn’t have an umbrella. It was just a drizzle by the time I arrived at my station and it was actually really pleasant and refreshing. Ahh.

Anyway: pictures of the new digs soon. I posted a new video up on YouTube to share a little bit about what I do for anyone who is interested. There’s an office video in the works too, but it’s slow going. I’ll be sure to make the next update soon!

This entry was posted in Stuff and Things, Thoughts, Transportation. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I move, therefore I build muscle

  1. Steve says:

    Glad you’re safe and dry. I hate moving house. I think one of the reasons I’m contemplating staying at this school next year, is that I won’t have to move house!

    Yes, moving services are the way to go! I hope you fully recover and I’m looking forward to not only seeing the apartment, but hopefully you’ll be up for doing a video of it as well. I’m very interested in seeing the studio/efficiencies over there.

Leave a Reply

